The video Learning to Change, Changing to Learn has really sparked my interest! It was never put into perspective for me before but once I heard the words it was kind of like an “aha” moment. My first thoughts were that these are great ideas and upon watching the video multiple times I realized these are some of the only ideas relevant to strengthening today’s education system.

Looking back on my k-12 years as a student I have a hard time recalling instances where I used the knowledge I was learning and actually applied it (there were very few)! Back then I didn’t know the difference but now, as a student that is learning how to educate I find myself awestruck. All I can remember is lecture, lecture, lecture. Immediately a dozen questions come to mind.. Is this still happening in schools? If, so why? Don’t teachers realize that children need to apply their knowledge to a concrete situation? Don’t teachers realize that what students are learning in school isn’t relevant to the jobs they will have once they graduate? Are students learning more outside of school through technology then they are in the actual classroom? Finally, what are we going to do about it? Where do we even start?

What Daniel Pink said in the video Learning to Change, Changing to Learn is what really got me interested. I love what he says about the “vending machine approach” that is being taught today is no longer the right way to go about education. Instead students need critical thinking skills, team building skills, the ability to research, and create, and modify. As I was digging for more information on this guy I realized that he wrote a book about these very skills. It is all about the left brain/right brain theory and how students today aren’t being taught the right brained skills necessary for their futures.

This video sums it up:

